Mochi

 

Mochi

Who doesn’t love mochi? My first experience with it was when I was in middle school and I would go to the Asian market with my grandma. My grandma is basically amazing and she picks up on every little detail of her grandchildren, so when my brother and I stopped and gave a second look to an ice cream filled treat in the frozen section…well, she just had to buy it for us. And man, did my brother and I devoured those things in an instant. Sine then, it has been one of my favorite desserts in the world, and a great little snack.

So today, I decided to bake mochi. This recipe is just for the little squares you would top frozen yogurt with. While you can make a filling and wrap the filling around it, I find that it is a bit tougher with this recipe and would recommend a stove top method if you wish to fill them.

So without further adieu…

Mochi

yields about a shit ton of 1″ cubes…

Ingredients

  • 1 lb of sweet rice flour (I used Mochiko)
  • 2 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1 3/4 cup water
  • 1 teaspoon of food coloring (optional)
  • potato starch for dusting

Directions

Preheat oven to 325°F and line a 9″ baking dish with foil and lightly oil

1.  In a large mixing bowl, sift the sweet rice flour

  • add sugar and mix to combine

2. Add the coconut milk, water, and food coloring if using. Mix ingredients together once all of these items are added to the flour mixture

  • mix until smooth and no lumps remain

3. Pour into lined baking dish and cover with foil so that the foil is touching the batter

4. Bake for 1 hour in the middle rack of your oven

5. Let mochi cool for an hour in the covered pans

6. Dust a clean surface with the potato starch and carefully peel off the top layer of foil from the mochi

7. Invert pan onto surface, and again slowly peel off the foil from the mochi

  • this will be sticky, so be careful and take your time

8. Lightly dust the top of the mochi with the potato starch and cut into 1 inch squares

  • roll the pieces into the potato starch and enjoy!

This can be kept for up to 2 weeks in an airtight container

Leave a Reply

